About Us Activities Membership AM AeSI Examination Students Forum Branch Activities News & Events Careers Contact us
Council of AeSI
Global Partners
Awards & Achievements

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the First Prime Minister of independent India becomes the First Chief Patron of the Society.


To promote the advancement and dissemination of knowledge of Aeronautical and Aerospace Sciences / Technologies. To strive for the elevation of Aeronautical and Aerospace profession.


Over the years, the Society has grown into a major professional body in the field of aeronautics, aviation & aerospace. The Society has 16 branches at all the important centers of aviation in the counter viz. Agra, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Chennai, Goa, Hyderabad, Kanpur, Kochi, Mumbai, Nasik, Nagpur, Pune, New Delhi, Sunabeda & Trivuvananthapuram. Society also has Journal Division and CFD Division at Bangalore.

Its membership of more than 9,000/- is drawn from all major Aeronautical establishments such as Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. D.G.C.A., Defence Research and Development Establishments, Academic Institutions, Aeronautical Development Agency, Indian Air Force, Indian Space Research Oganization, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, National Airports Autority of India, Air India, Indian Airlines, Jetways, Pawan Hans, Aero Industry in Private Sector. Private Airlines, Defence Res. & Dev. Laboratory, Army Aviation Corps. The Society also drives its strength from financial support and active participation of its Corporate Members. The society has 53 Corporate Members from both National and International Sectors.


The Society is managed by a Council consisting of a President, President Elect, Seven Vice Presidents, the Honorary Secretary General, Honorary Treasurer and fifteen members, twelve of whom are elected and the other three nominated to represent special interests. The Council is elected every year at the Annual General Meeting. The Council manages affairs of the Society with specialist support from its nine committees namely; Academics Committee, Awards Committee, Building Committee, Editorial and Journal Committee, Grading Committee, Rules Committee and Standing Committee. These specialist committees give direction and plans activities of the Society.

Earlier, the Governing Council had the proud privilege of being guided by various luminaries in the profession, including His Excellency Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam former President of India.


- Fraternisation amongst professionals.
- Enrols individuals, Institutions & Industries are members.
- Conducts examinations in aeronautical engineering equivalent to a degree from an Indian University.
- Publishes a Quarterly International Journal & monthly E-news.
- Encourages Indian authors to write books on aeronautical/aerospace subjects.
- Encourages young professionals to participate in International Conferences.
- Confers Awards of Excellance.
- Conducts Annual Essay Competitions for Students/Scientists/Engineers.
- Provides a platform for Industry - R&D - Academic interaction.
- Participates with the Government in the formulation of policies, procedures and guidelines.
© The Aeronautical Society of India 2009.
All rights reserved.